top of page
  • s.a. Gayatri

The Hollow Dating 




Getting on a dating app isn’t a big deal these days but why are so many people with broken hearts and shitty bios catfishing? 

The saddest part is people trying for the first time and another set of these people trying for nth time are just same. 

I know this sounds crazy so let me tell you a story of the hollow dating that we are part of! 


Out of all these monotonous profiles that looked like funerals on a dating app, yours seemed like a birthday. 

We ended up matching and the conversation started like a lyrical with indie music in the background. We kept texting exchanging all small details from the color of your boxer shorts that night to your favourite destination. 


You seemed like a face I wanted to see just after this pandemic ended. With a hope that kept me sane and made me wait for you calls amidst your busy schedule. I questioned you that why were you working and talking to me the same time? You chuckled and said,” priorities “. I know it’s cheesy and cliche but it did seem true. 

Your sweetnames tale started off right away when you started babeing me with my subtle permission. What was this to you I wanted to ask? You went from talking about your best friends to letting them know about me. 

A sudden message that you decided to throw at me saying you wanted to meet was an icebreaker. 


In a pandemic like this obviously why would anyone wanna risk their lives and meet a stranger? I was thinking all day long until you decided to meet on a date on a day that was as gloomy as my heart. We agreed and you came with a big smile on your face. 

Our two hours conversation was flowing smooth like butter. I knew you were noticing me; the way I smiled, talked and even flipped my eyes. 


You didn’t mind, did you? Of course I don’t know. After the date, you had a game with your boys. Before leaving, you hugged me tight as if you knew that I was gonna need it soon. We clicked pictures that you were about to send me and delete. You left a note and kissed me saying we will meet soon. But from dusk to midnight, what changed your mind? 

From “I will make you meet my best friends and mom “ to “I am sorry, I cannot take this further”. Could you tell me what changed? 

Probably I was the game you were about to play with you boys because at last 

You played me out ! 

When you were so sure that you didn’t like me why did you sweet talk with me? 


コメント


bottom of page